Bitter

Here in the place where your spirit gets eaten
I refuse to taste sweet
I will be bitter to the taste
I will not be beat

I will stand with my sisters
our mouths chewed off
that is what gets eaten first
no voice
no life
silently we say no
generation after generation
giving life
giving our blood to the Earth

Here in the place where your spirit gets eaten
I refuse to taste sweet
I will be bitter to the taste
I will not be beat

I will stand with my brothers
swallowing our pride
laughing at the indignity
of warriors unarmed

and when they take our sacred objects
put them in a museum
we will make more
for ceremonies unforgotten

Here in the place where your spirit gets eaten
I refuse to taste sweet
I will be bitter to the taste
I will not be beat

I will stand with our children
who only ask to learn
our children know who they are
and remind us with their tears
when they see we have forgotten

Kira Young © 2010-2015

About Kira

Radio Host at Revolution Radio, Real Liberty Media and Peoples Internet Radio, wife, mother, singer, grower of food.
This entry was posted in Articles, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

