Cracker Ass Cracker

Back in the late 90s, my husband (then boyfriend) and I lived in an Apartment on Alice Street in Oakland California. There was an elderly gentleman who lived on the top floor and each time he would pass us in the hall or on the sidewalk, we would hear him say, “Cracker ass cracker.” To this day, it remains a memory that we both laugh about. Admittedly, it was much funnier to my husband, who is a full-blood American Indian, originally from the mid-west. Our elderly, black neighbor nailed me before I even knew what I was. I am a cracker and proud of it.
Although it has become a term frequently used by black people to refer to white people, the term cracker was originally used by wealthy, white Southerners to make poor, white Southerners feel inferior and themselves, superior. Cracker originally referred to the poor, white Southerners, frequently sharecroppers, who would, along with poor blacks and American Indians, all go to the grist mill to crack corn and turn their corn into corn meal for Southern favorites like corn bread, hush puppies and hoecakes.

JJ Grey tell us the truth about the term cracker here:

So, just as I proudly claim my Choctaw heritage, I proudly claim my cracker heritage too. My cracker-ness is yet another reminder of how we are really all in the same boat. We are all still going to the same metaphorical grist mill together, cracking our corn, trying to make it in a world run by elite psychopaths who would rather see us pit against each other, divided and conquered, than eating corn bread and greens together, singing the Blues and dancing into deep, dark, hot, wet, Southern night.

About Kira

Radio Host at Revolution Radio, Real Liberty Media and Peoples Internet Radio, wife, mother, singer, grower of food.
This entry was posted in Articles, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cracker Ass Cracker

  1. Pingback: Cracker Ass Cracker | Alternative News Network

  2. I think an important detail is that – because of who is considered the ‘default human’ in our culture – it’s easier for most ‘white’ people to laugh at “cracker ass cracker” (it is a pretty weak slur) than it would be for a non-white person being called “spic”, “nigger”, “gook”, etc… by an elderly white man. My wife (native/white heritage) and I (black/white heritage) have been called some things by white folk; sometimes we laugh at the absurdity but usually it’s just gross. I think it’s similar to how there aren’t really as many good, deep-cutting slurs you could use against men as there are to be used against women.

    Anyway, random detail that might amuse you: my family has always claimed to have some native heritage. This is not technically true (I have a tiny, tiny bit). Rather, they have historically been so deeply ashamed of being part cracker that they would claim Indian heritage to explain away their skin color.

  3. veasley2 says:

    It’d take awhile to line out all I could be called. beyond the social economic genotype. the short label would be perhaps, redneck hillbilly slice of southern fried country boy with a western swing. add all my travels and sought influences towards tolerance, I find strength in our diversity that seems less and less measurable on the inside. Couple all the missed marks measured by set stigmas from an age old agenda established to keep us common folk at odds is now being re-gauged by Free Thinkers all around us in our World today, challenging precepts that in times past were censored, be it by the state or dogma sloped at the troughs disguised with a feel good smell smothered in self-righteousness, the aroma callusing empathy for any whose palates are different than than what makes their taste buds tingle, or so it seems to me. As for me, I’m having the High Nigga Pie, would you care to join me? Bon Appetite

  4. veasley2 says:

    Reblogged this on Hemp and Cannabis Can Save the World and commented:
    It’d take awhile to line out all I could be called. beyond the social economic genotype. the short label would be perhaps, redneck hillbilly slice of southern fried country boy with a western swing. add all my travels and sought influences towards tolerance, I find strength in our diversity that seems less and less measurable on the inside. Couple all the missed marks measured by set stigmas from an age old agenda established to keep us common folk at odds is now being re-gauged by Free Thinkers all around us in our World today, challenging precepts that in times past were censored, be it by the state or dogma sloped at the troughs disguised with a feel good smell smothered in self-righteousness, the aroma callusing empathy for any whose palates are different than than what makes their taste buds tingle, or so it seems to me. As for me, I’m having the High Nigga Pie, da Kind is my kinda Budz, care to join me? Bon Appetite

Leave a Reply

